Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Home > Legal > DUI Charges In Utah

DUI Charges In Utah

Criminal defendants are arrested for driving under the influence if they have a blood alcohol content reading of at least 0.08%. Law enforcement officers evaluate the blood-alcohol content reading via a breathalyzer or blood testing. Defendants who are facing the charges need legal representation to build a proper defense.

What Happens After a First Conviction?

A first conviction for a DUI in Utah leads to a jail sentence that starts with two days in jail and no less than 48 hours of community services. However, defendants could receive a maximum sentence of 180 days in prison. The driver’s license suspension is 120 days. The lowest fine for a first offense is $1,310. If the driver had a blood-alcohol content reading that exceeded 0.16%, the court requires an ignition interlocking device for no less than one year.

Second DUI Conviction Penalties

With a second DUI conviction, the driver must remain in jail for at least 10 days, and they face a five-day prison sentence with a maximum sentence of 180 days. They will also receive 30 hours of house arrest. Drivers who are convicted of a second DUI receive a two-year driver’s license suspension. The ignition interlocking device must remain in the driver’s vehicle at least two years. The fine for the conviction is no less than $1,560.

Your Third DUI Conviction

A third conviction imposes at least a 62-day prison sentence with a maximum of five years. The driver’s license is revoked for no less than two years, and the driver must have an ignition interlocking device in their automobile for two years minimum. The lowest fine imposed for the third conviction is $2,580.

What Happens If You Need an IID?

If the court requires an ignition interlocking device, the driver must install the device at their own expense. If the driver doesn’t install the device, they could face additional penalties, and they are restricted from operating their vehicle.

Criminal defendants who are charged with a DUI could lose their driving privileges and face serious penalties. If the drunk driver causes an accident, they could face additional charges. Defendants who need an attorney can find more information right now.